Council Archives

Sedlescombe Parish Council came into being in 1894. Read more. The Minutes of the first Parish Council Meeting can be seen here.

The following people have been Chairmen of the Parish Council since the beginning:

1894-1896 Harvey Trewythen Brabazon Combe
1896-1919 H Arthur Pratt
1919-1922 P B Mills
1922-1946 R C Savill
1946-1947 B S Sargent
1947-1952 Thomas G Hilder
1952-1953 A J Veness
1953-1958 William Vencenzo Feraro
1958-1962 Rev. Geoffrey N Martin
1962-1969 Philip A W Howe
1969-1974 Arthur Hodsoll
1974-1979 Michael Drury
1979-1986 David P Woodman
1986-1990 William E G Beaney
1990-1993 Sheila Betts
1993-1995 Derek A Davis
1995-1998 Sheila Betts
1998-2012 Valerie Wright
2012-date Jonathan Vine-Hall

The following people have been Clerks to the Parish Council since the beginning:

1894-1910 James Byner
1910-1937 Thomas G Hilder
1938-1962 Fred Phillips
1962-1976 Phyllis Reeves
1975-2014 Pauline J Raymond
2014 to date Carol Hodgson